The Ideal Look

 Ugh. My dark circles are huge.
Wait, is that another zit? Perfect!Damn you, deliciously scrumptious cheese fondue.
What is that? Am I starting to grow whiskers????

This is, basically, the gist of my thoughts, every morning. I wake up, look at my reflection in the mirror, and fuss over all the possible flaws in my appearance. And, I’m sure that you tend to criticize yourself in some or the other way too. And, it’s not just you and I, every woman, every person tends to be overly self- critical of themselves.Because deep down we all want that ideal look.

Deep down, we all wish to look a certain way , we fantasize what we would look like if we could just tweak the shape of our nose, or if we could have that straight, silky hair, or possess that perfect body , or to have that clear, smooth complexion.We long to look a certain way, ‘ The Ideal’ way. We itch to have the ideal look.

I know what you are going to say now, ” Psst.yawn. bogus. I knew that already. There’s nothing new about that.” But, let me ask you, If you know that everyone feels the same way, If you know that no one is perfect, and that ‘ The ideal’ just doesn’t exist. Then,why do you & I still keep inflicting ourselves with such demoralizing rebukes?

It’s easy to think that it’s the society, the media,the outside world that planted this delusion to have the ideal look in our minds. But, the bitter truth is that it’s not the society that imposed these narrow-minded conceptions on us, we are the real culprits of our low self-esteems. What we see outside is nothing but a reflection of what we feel inside.

How many times have you caught yourself looking at a friend, a relative, a stranger and envied their luscious hair, or their slender arms and legs, or their clear, glowing skin.

But do you know,while you are envying someone else, that ‘ someone else’ might actually be fretting about their own insecurities and they could actually be envying you back? And the circle continues.

Even though, we don’t believe in our own beauty, we want to be told that we are beautiful. And we wait for someone else to come and make us believe in ourselves, but we won’t do it ourselves. Forgive me, isn’t that a little too hypocritical of us?

But why should we feel the need to hide these little imperfections, that are, actually, a part of who we are. Think about it, if everyone of us were to take away those tiny blemishes and flaws and achieve ‘The Ideal look’, won’t we loose our individuality, too? And isn’t that a bigger loss, in so many ways, Remember, your imperfections are what makes you, a real woman.

Instead of hiding them, if you embrace these little details , your so-called flaws, you have the power to compel people to see the real you. Your soul will shine out through your eyes. When you accept yourself for who you are, the world will start doing the same too. I know what you have to say, ” That’s some good advice, but easier said then done, right?”. Well, what if I could prove it?

Lupita Nyong’o
An actress and film director, she won an Oscar for her role as the slave Patsey in the film ‘ 12 years a slave’. And, in 2014, she was named ” The most beautiful woman” by People’s magazine. Something, she felt she could never achieve , because she thought beauty meant ” Light skin and long, flowing, straight hair.”

Lupita Nyong'o

So, there you go, I want you to be inspired by this one hell of an amazing woman, and realize that when you appreciate yourself for who you are, no more and no less, there are no limits as to what you can achieve.I know it’s hard and it takes a lot of courage but it is worth it.

And now when I wake up, I look in the mirror, and I am thankful for my crazy, unruly wavy hair, my slightly plumpy nose and my braces studded teeth. Because they are a part of who I am. And I wouldn’t change my imperfect features for the world.(Though I’ll be glad to get my braces off, Perfect or Imperfect, they can be a pain.) All I can tell you is that if Lupita Nyong’o could do it, if I can do it, then, so can you.

 

2 thoughts on “The Ideal Look

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

